Thoracic Surgery
Back to Articles

Minimally Invasive Thoracic Surgery

Thoracotomy is one of the most painful incisions of any surgical procedure, and its associated complications, such as pneumonia, are well known. Video-Assisted Thoracoscopic Surgery (VATS) offers the benefits of a minimally invasive approach with reduced pain and complications [1, 2].

Sweaty Palms

Sweaty palms can be quite distressing, but can be effectively treated by sympathectomy. Unfortunately, the traditional open approach, either supraclavicular or transaxillary, is associated with significant risks such as phrenic nerve injury and lung injury, in addition to complications associated with a large wound. Not surprisingly, physicians were reluctant to refer patients for sympathectomy. With VATS, the procedure can be performed via 2 to 3mm incisions and the patient often discharged on the same day. The result is extremely good with nearly 100% success rate and minimal risks [3,4,5].

Spontaneous Pneumothorax

Another thoracic condition that benefits from VATS is spontaneous pneumothorax. A very clear thoracoscopic view enables identification of bullae, which are often the cause of the air leak. The bullae can be easily excised with an endostapler or ligated with sutures. A thorough mechanical pleural abrasion ensures sound pleurodesis. The patient can be discharged three to five days after operation. Recurrence rate is around 5% [6,7]. For those elderly patients with secondary spontaneous pneumothorax, VAT pleurodesis can be performed under local anaesthesia with talcum powder. The result is equally good [8]. VAT talc pleurodesis is also indicated for those patients suffering from malignant pleural effusion and for recurrent pleural effusion from other causes such as peritoneal dialysis [9].

Lung Cancer

For lung cancers, VAT lobectomy eliminates the complications associated with a thoracotomy. Post-operative pain is minimal and the patient can be discharged 5 to 7 days after the operation. Studies have shown that for early stage cancers VATS offers similar oncological clearance as traditional open lobectomy with comparable survival rates [1].

VATS Biopsy

With increased health awareness and more exhaustive pre-operative investigations such as CT, MRI and PET scans, more abnormalities are being picked up in asymptomatic patients. In most cases, the physician is obliged to do further investigations to find out the nature of these lesions. CT guided fine needle aspiration (FNA) cytology offers the best answer if the lesion is big enough for aspiration and located in a position amenable to percutanous biopsy. However, FNA might not be successful or conclusive. VATS offers a clear examination of the pleural cavity and the lung lobes, and excision of the nodule provides a specimen for a definitive histological diagnosis [10].

Miscellany

Other thoracic procedures that are amenable to VATS include thymectomy for myasthenia gravis and thymoma, excision or biopsy of mediastinal tumours, decortication for early empyema thoracis and diagnosis for pleural effusion of unknown causes.

References


1. Scott WJ, Allen MS, Darling G, Meyers B, Decker PA, Putnam JB, McKenna RW, Landrenau RJ, Jones DR, Inculet RI, Malthaner RA. Video-assisted thoracic surgery versus open lobectomy for lung cancer: a secondary analysis of data from the American College of Surgeons Oncology Group Z0030 randomized clinical trial. J Thorac Cardiovasc Surg. 2010 Apr;139(4):976-81

2. Deva AK, McCaughan BC, Monaghan G, Hendel PN, Hughes CF, Thomson DS, Baird DK. Video-assisted thoracoscopy. Aust N Z J Surg. 1994 Oct;64(10):705-9.

3. Tai YP, Lee MWM, Li MKW. Thoracoscopic sympathectomy for palmar hyperhidrosis: Hong Kong early experience. Hong Kong Medical Journal. 96; 2(3): 315-8

4. Wait SD, Killory BD, Lekovic GP, Ponce FA, Kenny KJ, Dickman CA. Thoracoscopic sympathectomy for hyperhidrosis: analysis of 642 procedures with special attention to Horner’s syndrome and compensatory hyperhidrosis. Neurosurgery. 2010 Sep;67(3):652-6;

5. Herbst F, Plas EG, Fugger R, Fritsch A. Endoscopic thoracic sympathectomy for palmar hyperhidrosis of the upper limb. A critical analysis and long-term results of 480 operations. Ann Surg 1994;220:86-90.

6. Chan P, Clarke P, Daniel FJ, Knight SR, Seevanayagam S. Efficacy study of video-assisted thoracoscopic surgery pleurodesis for spontaneous pneumothorax. Ann Thorac Surg. 2001 Feb;71(2):452-4.

7. Gossot D, Galetta D, Stern JB, Debrosse D, Caliandro R, Girard P, Grunenwald D. Results of thoracoscopic pleural abrasion for primary spontaneous pneumothorax. Surg Endosc. 2004 Mar;18(3):466-71

8. Ramos-Izquierdo R, Moya J, Macia I, Rivas F, Ureña A, Rosado G, Escobar I, Saumench J, Cabrera A, Delgado MA, Villalonga R. Treatment of primary spontaneous pneumothorax by videothoracoscopic talc pleurodesis under local anesthesia: a review of 133 procedures. Surg Endosc. 2010 May;24(5):984-7

9. Mak SK, Nyunt K, Wong PN, Lo KY, Tong GM, Tai YP, Wong AK. Long-term follow-up of thoracoscopic pleurodesis for hydrothorax complicating peritoneal dialysis. Ann Thorac Surg. 2002 Jul;74(1):218-21.

10. Mack MJ, Hazelrigg SR, Landreneau RJ, Acuff TE. Thoracoscopy for the diagnosis of the indeterminate solitary pulmonary nodule. Ann Thorac Surg. 1993 Oct;56(4):825-30

Copyright ©2016 asia medical specialists. All rights reserved.

胸肺
回到醫生文章

微創胸肺外科手術

開胸手術是眾多手術中切口最痛的一類,其相關的併發症,例如肺炎是眾所周知的。視像輔助胸腔鏡手術 (VATS) 具微創手術的好處,能減少痛楚和併發症 [1,2]。

手掌多汗症

手掌多汗症可以令人相當困擾,但利用交感神經截斷術,是可以有效治療的。可惜,傳統的開胸方法,無論從鎖骨上或腋下開刀,都有傷及膈神經和肺部的重要風險,也會因傷口大而引起併發症。因此,醫生往往不願推薦患者進行此手術。現在有了視像輔助胸腔鏡手術,便可經由 2 至 3 毫米的小切口進行手術,患者可於同日出院。手術成功率接近 100%,更大大降低手術帶來的風險 [3,4,5] 。

自發性氣胸

此外,視像輔助胸腔鏡手術對於自發性氣胸也有很大的幫助。肺囊泡往往是導致肺部空氣洩漏的原因,而清晰的胸腔鏡影像,可鑑定囊泡的位置,並能輕易地以內視訂裝器切除,或以縫線結紮。而一個徹底的機械性胸膜磨耗術,便能確保成功的胸膜固定。患者可於術後 3 至 5 天出院。復發率約為 5% [6,7]。年長而患繼發性自發氣胸的患者,可在局部麻醉下利用滑石粉,以視像輔助胸腔鏡手術來進行胸膜黏連,手術結果同樣理想 [8] 。對於患有惡性胸膜積水,或因其他原固,例如腹膜透析而引致復發性胸膜積水的患者,都可用這種視像輔助胸腔鏡滑石粉胸膜黏連術醫治 [9] 。

肺癌

對於肺癌,視像輔助胸腔鏡肺葉切除術可消除開胸手術引起的併發症。術後痛楚輕微,患者可於 5 至 7 天後出院。研究顯示,對於早期癌症,視像輔助胸腔鏡手術清除腫瘤的程度與傳統開放式的肺葉切除術相若,而活存率亦可與之媲美 [1] 。

視像輔助胸腔鏡活檢

隨著健康意識的提高,加上更詳盡的術前檢查例如電腦斷層掃描、磁力共振掃描及正電子掃描,愈來愈多的異常情況可以在無症狀的患者身上檢驗出來。在大多數情況下,醫生應作進一步檢查,找出這些病變的性質。若病變的大小足夠抽吸和位置適合進行經皮穿刺活檢的話,可用電腦斷層掃描引導的細針穿刺活檢,作細胞學的評估。不過,這種檢查是不一定會成功或有結論的。視像輔助胸腔鏡活檢可提供清晰的胸膜腔和肺葉檢查,而切除結節則能提供樣本以作明確的組織學病理診斷 [10] 。

雜錄

其他可用視像輔助胸腔鏡的胸肺手術包括:治療重症肌無力症及胸腺瘤的胸腺切除術、縱膈腔腫瘤切除或活組織檢查、治療早期膿胸的皮質剝脫術,以及診斷成因不明的胸膜積水。

參考文獻

1. PA, Putnam JB, McKenna RW, Landrenau RJ, Jones DR, Inculet RI, Malthaner RA.Video-assisted thoracic surgery versus open lobectomy for lung cancer: a secondary analysis of data from the American College of Surgeons Oncology Group Z0030 randomized clinical trial. J Thorac Cardiovasc Surg. 2010 Apr;139(4):976-81

2. Deva AK, McCaughan BC, Monaghan G, Hendel PN, Hughes CF, Thomson DS, Baird DK. Video-assisted thoracoscopy. Aust N Z J Surg. 1994 Oct;64(10):705-9.

3. Tai YP, Lee MWM, Li MKW. Thoracoscopic sympathectomy for palmar hyperhidrosis: Hong Kong early experience. Hong Kong Medical Journal. 96; 2(3): 315-8

4. Wait SD, Killory BD, Lekovic GP, Ponce FA, Kenny KJ, Dickman CA. Thoracoscopic sympathectomy for hyperhidrosis: analysis of 642 procedures with special attention to Horner’s syndrome and compensatory hyperhidrosis. Neurosurgery. 2010 Sep;67(3):652-6;

5. Herbst F, Plas EG, Fugger R, Fritsch A. Endoscopic thoracic sympathectomy for palmar hyperhidrosis of the upper limb. A critical analysis and long-term results of 480 operations. Ann Surg 1994;220:86-90.

6. Chan P, Clarke P, Daniel FJ, Knight SR, Seevanayagam S. Efficacy study of video-assisted thoracoscopic surgery pleurodesis for spontaneous pneumothorax. Ann Thorac Surg. 2001 Feb;71(2):452-4.

7. Gossot D, Galetta D, Stern JB, Debrosse D, Caliandro R, Girard P, Grunenwald D. Results of thoracoscopic pleural abrasion for primary spontaneous pneumothorax. Surg Endosc. 2004 Mar;18(3):466-71

8. Ramos-Izquierdo R, Moya J, Macia I, Rivas F, Ureña A, Rosado G, Escobar I, Saumench J, Cabrera A, Delgado MA, Villalonga R. Treatment of primary spontaneous pneumothorax by videothoracoscopic talc pleurodesis under local anesthesia: a review of 133 procedures. Surg Endosc. 2010 May;24(5):984-7

9. Mak SK, Nyunt K, Wong PN, Lo KY, Tong GM, Tai YP, Wong AK. Long-term follow-up of thoracoscopic pleurodesis for hydrothorax complicating peritoneal dialysis. Ann Thorac Surg. 2002 Jul;74(1):218-21.

10. Mack MJ, Hazelrigg SR, Landreneau RJ, Acuff TE. Thoracoscopy for the diagnosis of the indeterminate solitary pulmonary nodule. Ann Thorac Surg. 1993 Oct;56(4):825-30

此文章原文由亞洲專科醫生以英文撰寫

© 2016 亞洲專科醫生,版權所有