What's New
2013

3

NOV
Media Interviews

CCTV News Channel: The first and successful Meniscal Regeneration Surgery in Hong Kong

The News Channel of China Central Television (CCTV) interviews our specialists Dr CC Kong, Dr Terence Chan and the patient who underwent the first Meniscal Regeneration Surgery in Hong Kong in November 2013. The interview can be seen here.

For enquiries, please contact us at +852 2521 6830 or email info@asiamedical.hk.

1

APR
Media Interviews

Signing Ceremony of asia medical specialists and Macau's Kiang Wu Hospital!

A signing ceremony for technical cooperation between asia medical specialists and Kiang Wu Hospital Macau was held on Monday 8th April 2013. Four Orthopaedic Surgeons and a Neurosurgeon of asia medical specialists will consult at the hospital once a week. The aim of the cooperation is to bring together the skills and expertise of both sides to provide high quality medical care in Macau. 

News coverage:

  •  Specialists from HK to consult in Kiang Wu (Macau Daily Times, April 10, 2013)

1

MAR
Media Interviews

Women and Hips!

A radio interview was conducted with our Orthopaedic Hip and Pelvic Surgeon, Dr Jason Brockwell on "Women and Hips"!

For further enquiries or appointment booking, please contact us at +852 2521 6830, or via our online form.

1

FEB
Media Interviews

Anterior Cruciate Ligament reconstruction surgery information video is now available online!

Anterior Cruciate Ligament (ACL) is vital to our knee movement but is often injured simply twisting your knee too far or changing direction too quickly. More importantly, a substantial proportion of acute ACL ruptures is missed and ACL-deficient knee can "give way" during regular exercise, resulting meniscal and cartilage injuries and eventually arthritis, so the best treatment to ACL rupture is to have it reconstructed.

The patient information film will walk you through the diagnosis of ACL rupture, ACL reconstruction surgery pre-op preparation, the surgery itself, and post-op rehabilitation.

Please click here to play the video.

2012

11

DEC
Media Interviews

Our orthopaedic surgeon Dr CC Kong talkes about regrow torn knee pad in South China Morning Post, 11 Dec 2012

Our orthopaedic surgeon Dr CC Kong talks about a case study about repairing a meniscal tear in South China Morning Post issued on 11 Dec 2012. Please click here to view the full article, "Case history: surgery to regrow torn knee pad".

For further enquiries or appointment booking, please contact us at 2521 6830, or via our online form.

1

DEC
Media Interviews

Avascular Necrosis and Osteoarthritis in Hip Joints Hip Resurfacing Surgery

Press Release: Avascular Necrosis and Osteoarthritis in Hip Joints - Hip Resurfacing Surgery for young & active patients

Press Release

(Hong Kong, 3rd December 2012) Over a thousand people in Hong Kong are diagnosed with serious hip joint damage each year, mainly due to avascular necrosis (AVN) or osteoarthritis. Many of them have the need for a total hip replacement surgery. The traditional total hip replacement surgery cannot fully recover patients’ hip functions and patients may need to re-do the surgery in future, so this option may not be suitable for young and active patients. Fortunately, Birmingham Hip Resurfacing (BHR) is a more bone conserving surgery introduced in Hong Kong recently, the surgery takes approximately 2 hours and patients can return to normal life in 3 months. A western athlete even won medals in international competitions after his recovery from BHR.

The hip joint is a ball and socket joint: the ball is formed by the head of the femur (thigh bone) and the socket is in the pelvis, to support our upper body weight and maintain balance, it works with other joints to complete complex motions including running, jumping and kneeling, it is very important in the musculoskeletal system. Nevertheless, the common cause of hip joint damage is AVN in Asians whilst osteoarthritis for Westerners, serious damage in hip can lead to loss in physical motion.

AVN is common in Asians
Dr. Jason Brockwell (Specialist in Orthopaedics & Traumatology) pointed out that roughly 1000 hip surgeries are done each year in Hong Kong, in which half of them are due to AVN. The major cause of AVN is reduced or lack of blood supply in the bone, resulting in the bone collapsing and dying. Patients will experience pain and discomfort, seriously affecting physical ability.

There are many causes to AVN, such as overdose of steroids, serious decompression sickness, vasculitis, systemic lupus erythematosus, radiation, etc. “In Asia, AVN is common because steroids is a common component in medicine, Asians tend to abuse the use of steroids.” Dr Brockwell added.

Sports Leading to Repetitive Stress Injury in Hip Joints
Dr Brockwell further explains that many athletes may have joint damage or inflammation due to sudden weight bearing or extreme body movement. Running a marathon, walking long distances, hiking, etc, may overwork the joint, resulting in repetitive stress injury, causing degenerative osteoarthritis.

Limitations of traditional hip replacement and post-operational hip functions
Most of the current hip damages are treated by the traditional method: Total Hip Replacement Surgery. During the surgery, the whole femoral head is removed even if the bone is undamaged, the artificial implants including a metal acetabular cup, a plastic acetabular insert, and a stem is then positioned in. .

As this surgery aims to reconstruct the hip joint, the recovery period is longer, usually over 6 months, there is also a lot of limitations for physical activity, the joint is relatively easily dislocated, and will wear out. The average survival of the implant is 20 years, after that, another surgery may be required; therefore, many young and active patients are unwilling to receive this surgery until the last minute despite the extreme pain for years.

Regaining the joy of physical activities after Birmingham Hip Resurfacing Surgery
Birmingham Hip Resurfacing (BHR) is a more bone conserving surgery introduced in Hong Kong recently to cater for the downsides of the traditional method. Dr. Derek McMinn, the developer of BHR & Specialist in Orthopaedics & Traumatology, explains that BHR only removes the damaged surface of the femoral head and conserves the undamaged bone. The artificial femoral head is fixed on the end of the femur, and the cup is implanted in the pelvic socket to act as a “cap” for protection and to resemble the original joint structure.

This implant is made of Carbide Cobalt Chrome Alloy, is more durable than the one used in the traditional method, with higher joint mobility, movement speed, better balance, and movement direction. Patients are able to enjoy normal life and usual sports including yoga, swimming, running, etc.

Dr. McMinn also introduced the latest Birmingham Mid Head Resection (BMHR) to patients with serious AVN or femoral head cysts. In this procedure, approximately half of the femoral head is removed, the implants including the artificial femoral head and cup are similar to those in BHR, with the same advantages; whilst conserving more undamaged bone compared to traditional total hip replacement surgery.

Young AVN patient returning to work after surgery
Mr Chan (undisclosed true name), is 47 years old, and spends most of his time working outdoors for his job. In 1997, he felt pain in the left thigh as the hip joint was wearing out, and could not walk for long durations. To the extreme that he could not walk for longer than 5 minutes, and the range of motion in the leg reduced gradually. Due to the worn out joint, he started feeling length discrepancy in his legs, imbalanced movement, along with the extreme pain. His supervisor also noticed his situation and reduced his outdoor working time, and shifted him to administrative work.

Governmental Orthopaedic specialist diagnosed his situation and concluded AVN as the cause. At the time, total hip replacement was the only option given by the public hospital. Mr. Chan repeated, “The attending specialist did not recommend taking this surgery as I was only around 30 years of age at the time, so I may have to re-do the surgery in 10 years as the implant would start wearing out. Despite the pain I had, I decided not to accept the surgery due to technical limitations.”

Until 2003, Mr. Chan learnt about BHR and its advantages, he received the surgery in 2004 on his left hip, and the second surgery in 2006 on his right hip. “The pain was significantly reduced after the surgery with a wider range of motion. I was discharged from the hospital 4 days later, and returned to sports in half a year. Nowadays, my leg motion is even better than before the hip joints were damaged. Not only can I return to my original duties, I run 4 kilometres each day and go hiking regularly.”

Patient with Osteoarthritis, Painless after Surgery
37 years old Gavin is a personal fitness trainer, and incorporated vast amount of sport in life since childhood. At the age of 17, he felt pain in the left femur, with increasing pain and narrowing range of movement, especially when intaking stimulative flavours such as sweet or spicy. He was forced to stop doing his favourite sports like swimming and Muay Thai. Nevertheless, as he cannot avoid sport during work, he just had to rely on pain killers.

Until 2011, medication was no longer able to control his pain, so he went to the doctor and was diagnosed with degenerative osteoarthritis. After considering his young age, he was advised to undertake BHR. Gavin did some research on it and underwent the surgery in Aug 2011.

The pain disappeared after the surgery and the range of movement in the leg was back to normal. A year after the operation, his hip functions returned back to normal.

Another 60 year old Charles had rheumatoid osteoarthritis 17 years ago. Not only was the hip function affected, it was too painful to sleep. He was introduced to BHR in 2001 through a friend and received the surgery in UK. He later received another BHR surgery in 2009 in Hong Kong. Similar to Mr. Chan, the pain was significantly reduced 2 days after the surgery, and the pain had not returned ever since.

1

NOV
Media Interviews

The first Meniscal Regeneration Surgery in Hong Kong, to make “irreparable meniscal tears” reparable

  • Article: Meniscal Regeneration By Meniscal Scaffold Implant Actifit Polyurethane Scaffold
  • Press Release: The first Meniscal Regeneration Surgery in Hong Kong, to make "irreparable meniscal tears" reparable
  • Sporting chance in knee injury first (The Standard, November 19, 2012)
  • Surgery to regrow torn knee pad (South China Morning Post, December 11, 2012)


Press Release

(Hong Kong – 13 November 2012) The meniscus is a crescent-shaped fibro-cartilaginous structure located between the thigh bone and the tibia, acting to disperse the weight of the body, absorb shocks and reduce friction during movement. In Hong Kong, meniscal tear is a common injury caused by intense actions when exercising. Some meniscal tears are more severe, which can only be removed but not repaired. When the meniscus is removed, the knee joint is not protected, hence increases the chances of early osteoarthritis.

Sport Injury leading to meniscal tears
According to Dr. Terence Chan, Orthopaedics & Traumatology, meniscal tears are common in 20 – 40 year olds, especially in males. He added: "most tears are related to sport injury or falling accidently, causing sudden forceful twisting in the knee, resulting in a meniscal tear." For example, when basketball players change direction too quickly after a jump, or when footballers collide into each other, will all increase the likelihood of a meniscal tear.

Dr. Chan also highlighted some of the symptoms associated with meniscal tears, including pain, swelling, popping when bending or straightening the knee, or even locking. Not only will it affect the functioning of the lower limbs, development of early osteoarthritis is also common due to damage to the surrounding cartilage.

Traditional Treatment has its limitations - Meniscal tears fail to recover
Dr. C.C. Kong, Orthopaedics & Traumatology, pointed out the limitations of traditional meniscus repair and partial meniscectomy, and in some of the more complex cases, the meniscus cannot be repaired.

The innovative "Meniscal Regeneration Surgery" has been introduced in Hong Kong recently, helping patients with damaged meniscus to heal. A local patient successfully received this minimally invasive treatment on Monday, the very first case in Hong Kong.

The first successful Meniscal Regeneration Surgery in Hong Kong
This surgery conducted by Dr. Chan and Dr. Kong has been successfully performed. Professor Verdonk, the core developer of this surgery, was also very pleased with the procedure finished at Matilda International Hospital. Professor Verdonk further explained: "The principle of Meniscal Regeneration Surgery is to clear the site of the meniscus defect, fill the defect with a trimmed scaffold, then suture the implant and the host meniscus together. The meniscal scaffold implant supports the in-growth of new "meniscus like" tissue with the aim of alleviating post-meniscectomy knee pain and preventing further articular cartilage degeneration."

Professor Verdonk emphasised that the meniscal scaffold would be degraded and absorbed in about 5 years, where the new "meniscus like" tissue would have replaced the scaffold. The high interconnected porosity property of the scaffold enables tissue in-growth, leading to self-healing. This ground-breaking Meniscal Regeneration Surgery has made recovery possible to the damaged meniscus.

Case Sharing:
Mr. William, a 33 years-old local citizen, educated in UK and working in advertising industry, is very fond of active and aggressive sport, including wakeboarding, hockey, adventure racing, and scuba-diving. He has also won an award in adventure racing. Unfortunately, he experienced a meniscal tear in the left knee 10 years ago during a wakeboarding incident, and suffered another hockey injury shortly after his recovery.

Diagnosis showed there was over 50% of damage in the meniscus, and thus unsuitable for a traditional meniscus repair, William underwent partial meniscectomy in 2006. Nevertheless, the functionality of his left knee was still affected, and was no longer able to enjoy active sports, but to play moderate sport such as running or swimming. William also felt irregular knee pain, in which he had to meet the doctor again due to recurrent knee pain whilst running half a year ago.

William was introduced to the new Meniscal Regeneration Surgery, and learnt that many European athletics have undergone this surgery, he finally accepted this new treatment and became the first patient of Meniscal Regeneration Surgery in Hong Kong. The surgery held on Monday in Hong Kong was very successful, doctors have reported that William is in good condition and recovery progress is expected.

1

OCT
Clinic News

Hong Kong Spine and Pain Centre commences!

Hong Kong Spine & Pain Centre is a one-stop comprehensive multidisciplinary medical care provider, with specialist doctors and physiotherapists to treat a wide range of spinal problems and other conditions causing pain.At hong kong spine & pain centre, our team of experts are dedicated to helping you better understand your condition, provide prompt clinical assessment, accurate diagnosis, explain and discuss the best treatment options with you, from non-surgical to surgical treatments. We aim to help you physically and psychologically, maximising your daily functions while minimising pain, returning or even enhancing your quality of life.

For more information, please visit www.spineandpain.hk.

2010

15

SEP
Clinic News

Opening of Kowloon Clinic in Tsimshatsui

Our Kowloon clinic opens in Tsimshatsui offering same services as Central, equipped with O-scan, an open design musculoskeletal MRI scanner.

12

MAY
Clinic News

AMS 5th Anniversary!

5th Anniversary, we now employ over 40 full-time staff and have helped countless patients get back to sports, or just get on with their lives.

最新資訊
2013

3

NOV
媒體訪問

中國中央電視台新聞頻道: 香港首例「半月板再生術」成功實施

我們兩位骨科專科醫生江志聰醫生、陳維傑醫生及於2013年11月接受全港首宗「半月板再生微創手術」的病人接受中國中央電視台新聞頻道的訪問。按此觀看。

如欲索取更多資料,請致電+852 2521 6830或電郵至 info@asiamedical.hk 與我們聯絡。

1

APR
媒體訪問

亞洲專科醫生與澳門鏡湖醫院合作簽約儀式!

亞洲專科醫生與澳門鏡湖醫院技術合作簽約儀式於2013年4月8日在澳門鏡湖醫院舉行。亞洲專科醫生的四位骨科專科醫生及一位神經外科專科醫生將每星期到該院駐診。合作目的是希望能充分發揮雙方各自的優勢和互補功能,為澳門居民提供更優質的醫療服務。


媒體報導:

  • 港專科醫生定期鏡湖駐診 (澳門日報,2013年4月9日)
  • 鏡湖與亞洲專醫合作 (澳門華僑報,2013年4月9日)
  • 港專科醫生駐診鏡湖 (澳門市民日報,2013年4月9日)
  • 鏡湖與亞洲專科合作 骨科醫生每月駐診一次 (力報,2013年4月9日)
  • 鏡湖與醫療機構合作提升服務 (澳門正報,2013年4月9日)
  • 鏡湖醫院與亞洲專科醫生醫療中心簽署協議 (新華澳報,2013年4月9日)
  • 亞洲專科醫生鏡湖駐診 (澳門商報,2013年4月11日) Daily Times, April 10, 2013)

1

MAR
媒體訪問

骨科專科醫生白展成醫生於電台的訪問 - 女士與髖關節!

我們的髖部及盆骨外科專科醫生白展成參與電台的訪問 - 女士們與髖關節。

如有任何查詢或預約,歡迎致電 +852 2521 6830 與我們聯絡,或於網上預約

1

FEB
媒體訪問

前十字韌帶重建手術資訊影片現可於互聯網觀看!

前十字韌帶是控制膝部動作的重要部分,但如果膝部轉幅太大或轉向太快都可能令前十字韌帶撕裂。更重要的是,有相當比例的急性前十字韌帶撕裂都被忽視,令膝關節有機會在日常活動中乏力,導致半月板和軟骨受傷,最後引發關節炎,所以最妥善的療法是把前十字韌帶重建。

在這段病人資訊影片中,我們將會介紹前十字韌帶撕裂的診斷方法,治療,手術前準備,手術過程,及復康護理。

按此播放病人資訊影片。

2012

11

DEC
媒體訪問

骨科專科醫生江志聰於南華早報(12月11日)講解半月板撕裂及修復手術

我們的膝部外科專科醫生江志聰醫生於南華早報講解有關半月板撕裂及修復手術。(英文)

如有任何查詢或預約,歡迎致電 +852 2521 6830 與我們聯絡,或於網上預約

1

DEC
媒體訪問

骨枯及關節炎引致髖關節受損 髖關節表面翻修手術適合好動患者

 

新聞稿


(香港 – 2012年12月3日)每年有逾千港人因骨枯、關節炎等問題令髖關節嚴重受損,需要進行全髖關節置換手術,但手術後,患者的活動能力不能全面恢復,日後且有機會需要重做手術,未必適合年輕好動患者。幸而,本港近年引入能夠保留較多大腿骨組織的「伯明翰髖關節表面翻修手術」,其手術過程只需兩小時,病人約三個月後便能回復正常生活,歐美也有運動員曾接受此手術,重回運動場上,並在國際比賽中獲獎。

髖關節是大腿骨與盆骨之間的一個球窩關節,用以支撐人體的重量及保持平衡,在其他關節的配合下去完成跑步、跳躍、蹲下等複雜的動作,是人體骨骼中很重要的一部分。然而,亞洲人士較常見的骨枯或歐美人士較常見的髖關節炎均會令髖關節嚴重受損,令患者髖部喪失活動能力。

亞洲人較易患上骨枯
骨科專科醫生白展成醫生表示,現時香港每年進行約一千宗髖關節置換手術,其中約一半由骨枯引起。骨枯的成因是骨骼的血液供應減少或不足,導致部分骨質慢慢流失,骨頭失去支撐便容易下陷及變形,患者會感到劇痛和不適,並嚴重影響身體的活動能力。

骨枯可由多項因素引起,例如服食過量類固醇、嚴重的潛水減壓症、血管炎、紅斑狼瘡及輻射等,「在亞洲,常見的原因是不少藥物含有類固醇,而亞洲人有較多濫用類固醇的情況。」白醫生補充。

運動令髖關節慢性勞損
他續稱,部分運動員在運動或活動時,髖關節的瞬間承重或活動幅度過大,都可引致髖關節受傷而發炎。馬拉松運動員、長途行走或爬山人士亦會因髖關節長期過度活動,造成慢性勞損,引發退化性髖關節炎。

傳統髖關節置換手術多不足 手術後活動仍有諸多限制
目前,香港大部分髖關節受損個案都是採取傳統手術治療,即全髖關節置換手術。要進行全髖關節置換手術,不論關節的受損程度,都必須取走整個股骨頭,再切走股骨近端骨骼,然後放入一支長七至八吋的金屬柄,以作支撐。

由於手術對整個髖關節進行重建,所以康復期長,需時至少六個月,而且病人活動能力仍有諸多限制,無法恢復正常活動能力。至於置入的人工關節因為比原本股骨頭細小,導致容易脫位,它亦會逐漸磨損,平均「壽命」約為二十年,到時或需再置換關節,因此不少年輕好動患者受病患困擾多年也不願意進行該項手術,直到不能再拖的時間才進行全髖關節置換手術。

伯明翰髖關節表面翻修手術令患者重拾運動樂趣
為針對傳統手術不足之處,香港近年引入了能夠保留大部份大腿骨組織的「伯明翰髖關節表面翻修手術」﹙Birmingham Hip Resurfacing,BHR﹚,研發此手術的英國骨科醫生Derek McMinn醫生解釋,BHR能夠保留病人本身較多正常股骨組織,只需將表面損毀部分磨走,然後安裝一個球狀人造關節面,而對面髖骨亦安裝一個窩形關節面(臼杯),兩個以碳化鋼鑄造的關節面像帽子般起着保護作用,並重建原本髖關節的構造。

此置入物較傳統耐用,同時它的活動性強,令平衡、速度、方向性等大大提升,病人在手術後三個月,便能回復正常生活,更可作正常運動,如瑜伽、游泳、跑步等。McMinn醫生亦介紹了「伯明翰股骨頭部份切除術」﹙Birmingham Mid Head Resection﹚,BMHR是髖關節手術的最新技術,適合嚴重骨枯或股骨頭囊腫患者。此手術將股骨頭的球狀位置切除大約一半,再安裝人造球狀及窩形關節面,兩個關節面的形狀及大小與BHR的部件相約,其優點也與BHR相同,而與傳統髖關節置換手術相比,仍可保留較多骨骼。


年輕骨枯患者 接受手術後重回工作崗位
現年47歲的陳先生(化名)從事的職業大部分時間是在戶外工作,直至97年髖骨磨蝕,左腳大腿疼痛,無法長時間走路,最嚴重時,走路5分鐘已經需要坐下休息,而雙腳移動的幅度愈來愈少。因為一邊髖骨磨蝕,造成左右腳長短有別,加上劇痛,走路時一拐一拐。因活動能力受限,陳先生的上司因此减少他戶外工作的時間,讓他處理較多文書工作。

政府骨科醫生確診陳先生髖關節受損是由骨枯引起,然而當時政府醫院只提供關節置換手術。陳先生表示:「我的主診醫生不建議進行此手術,因當時我只是30出頭,就算做了全髖關節置換手術,10年後仍可能因人工關節磨損要再做手術更換,所以當時即使疼痛非常,亦因技術限制而不選擇接受手術。」

直至約2003年,陳先生得悉BHR的資料及其優點,於2004年決定為左邊髖骨進行手術,並於2006年完成右邊髖骨手術。「手術後,痛楚即時已經減少,雙腳活動幅度增加。我在手術後約4天已經出院,半年後重新進行運動。現在,雙腿的活動能力比髖關節受損時更好,我除了能返回以往的工作崗位,每天更會跑步4公里,並經常登山遠足。」

髖關節炎患者 手術後擺脫痛楚
37歲的Gavin 是健身教練,自小已經進行大量運動。17歲起發現左邊盆骨疼痛,疼痛隨時間增加,左腿移動的幅度亦愈來愈小,進食糖分較高、較辣等刺激性食物時,痛楚會較嚴重。喜歡的游泳及泰拳運動,亦因疼痛而無法進行,但因工作需要無法避免運動,只能長期依靠止痛藥。

直至2011年痛楚加劇,無法以藥物控制,於是求醫,確診為退化性髖關節炎。醫生考慮他年紀尚輕,建議進行伯明翰髖關節表面翻修手術,Gavin也有進行資料搜集,最後於2011年8月進行手術。

手術後Gavin的痛楚已經消失,左腳移動的幅度回復正常,經過一年之後,現在的活動能力亦已恢復正常水平。

另外,60歲的Charles在17年前出現類風濕髖關節炎,不但影響活動能力,更痛得難以入眠。於朋友介紹下,左髖關節先於2001年在英國接受BHR手術,右髖關節再於2009年在香港接受此項手術;與陳先生一樣,Charles的痛楚於手術後兩天已經減退,而左右髖關節於術後經過多年,亦沒有再次出現痛楚徵狀。

1

NOV
媒體訪問

全港首宗「半月板再生微創手術」 突破受損半月板不能復原局限

新聞稿


(香港 – 2012年11月13日) 半月板是位於大腿股骨與小腿脛骨之間的一種纖維軟骨,有穩定關節、吸收震盪及減少摩擦的功能。可是,不少市民在進行各類運動時,容易因激烈動作導致半月板受損甚至撕裂。部份患者的撕裂比較嚴重,不能修補,只能切除,使膝關節失去半月版的保護,長遠會增加膝關節退化的機會。

半月板受損撕裂常與運動創傷有關
骨科專科醫生陳維傑醫生表示,半月板受損或撕裂,多見於二十至四十歲,尤以男性為多︰「成因多數與運動創傷或意外絆倒有關,當膝部受到突然旋轉式蹲踞的壓力,超出半月板所能承受,就會令它破裂。」例如籃球員投籃著地時膝部彎曲加上旋轉 動作,或足球員在搶球時被其他球員直接碰撞等,都會增加半月板撕裂的機會。

陳醫生又指,半月板受損後,徵狀可包括膝部疼痛、腫脹、伸直或彎曲時有聲響,以至膝部活動被卡住的「交鎖現象」等,除對患者的下肢活動功能造成影響,部份患者因軟骨受損,可導致早期關節性勞損。

傳統手術限制較多半月板受創後亦不能復原
骨科專科醫生江志聰醫生指,傳統治療方案包括半月板修補術及半月板切除術等,臨床上均有一定限制,部份個案屬『複雜性撕裂』,無法透過半月板修補術作治療。

直至最近,本港引入最新的「半月板再生微創手術」,以新技術幫助患者受損的半月板自行重新癒合。本月有一名本地市民已於明德國際醫院成功完成此項手術,為全香港首宗同類手術個案。

全港首宗「半月板再生微創手術」成功完成
是次手術由陳醫生及江醫生進行,手術情況良好。比利時的骨科專科醫生Verdonk教授是開發此項微創手術的核心成員之一,對手術結果表示欣喜。Verdonk 教授解釋︰「半月板再生微創手術的原理,是於切除了半月板的位置植入人工製生物支架,支架會被切成半月板缺損位置的大小並植入相關位置,再利用針線將支架 與半月板縫合。支架容許組織長入以形成半月板狀組織,可緩和半月板切除術後所引起的膝痛,及預防關節軟骨退化。」

Verdonk教授又指,約5年後支架便可完全分解,被身體吸收,新的半月板組織已填補先前植入支架的位置。該支架內有大量小孔,可容許新的半月板組織在支架內生長,引導組織自行癒合,是突破性的半月板創傷治療新技術,改變了過往受損半月板不能復原的限制。

個案分享︰
33歲的William是一位在本地出生、於英國接受教育的男士,任職廣告界。他一向喜歡進行刺激及碰撞性運動,如花式滑水、曲棍球、越野挑戰賽及潛水等,更曾在戶外越野挑戰賽中獲獎。可是,好動的他在10年前進行花式滑水時,因意外 導致左腳半月板撕裂。稍稍康復不久,又在曲棍球運動中受傷。

醫生檢查發現William左腳半月板逾50%面積受損,不適宜接受修補手術,遂在2006年以手術將部份半月板切除;但左腳運動能力自始受影響,無法進行激烈運動,只能以較溫和的運動如跑步及游泳等代替。而William的患處亦不 時感腫脹疼痛。半年前,他跑步時感到舊患疼痛,再次求診。

William經醫生介紹下,了解最新的「半月板再生微創手術」詳情,得知有不少歐洲運動員已進行過此項新手術,最終決定接受最新治療,成為全港首宗半月板再生微創手術個案;他已於昨天 (11月12日) 成功在本港接受手術,醫生表示,手術情況良好,患者亦將可逐漸回復正常腳部活動。

 

1

OCT
最新消息

香港脊骨及痛症中心啟業

香港脊骨及痛症中心致力提供全面及跨專科的一站式醫療服務,由專科醫生及物理治療師團隊緊密合作,治療各式脊骨或痛症問題。 香港脊骨及痛症中心的專科團隊會以專業態度,幫助閣下深入了解身體狀況,迅速提供臨床評估、準確診斷及講解,與你討論從保守治療到手術治療的最佳方案。我們的目標,是從生理及心理全方位幫助病人解決痛楚,回復身體機能至最佳程度,提升生活質素。

詳情請瀏覽 www.spineandpain.hk.

2010

15

SEP
最新消息

九龍尖沙咀診所開幕

我們的九龍診所位於尖沙咀,提供與中環診所一樣的服務,同樣備有全身 X 光機及開放式肌肉及骨骼磁力共振掃描儀。

12

MAY
最新消息

亞洲專科醫生踏入五周年

踏入五周年,我們現已有超過四十名全職工作人員,而且幫助過無數患者重拾運動的機會,或回復他們原本的生活模式。